John A. Sinnott & Co. Solicitors was established in Abbey Square in Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford in 1865 by John A. Sinnott. Almost 160 years later, John A. Sinnott has only had 4 successors, none of which have ever used their own name over the door out of respect for the Enniscorthy man and his business that were both so genuinely revered.
These successors were John N. Scallan, John J. Bolger, Des McEvoy and current owner, John Murphy.
John Murphy recognises that each of his predecessors have left a legacy that remains strong in the business today. John A. Sinnott – peace-making; John N. Scallan – relentless and dignified; John J. Bolger- forward thinking, able to establish the fundamentals of a problem and anticipate outcomes; Des McEvoy – knowledgeable, dynamic, courteous and charitable.
Read the full history here.
John A. Sinnott & Co. Solicitors in 1916
During the Easter Rising in 1916, 34 year old John N. Scallan was at the helm.
Actual files from that period show how Scallan acted with courage, poise and relentlessness on behalf of his clients despite occurrences. Many of his letters merely refer to what was happening as ‘disturbances in the town.’ These letters provide fascinating insight into how the Rising affected local people and businesses and their mind-set at that time.
Read them here.
Browse historical photos here